American Institute of Architects (1976)

The American Institute of Architects’ 25-Year award is given each year to a building of ‘enduring significance.’ In 1976, the 860|880 buildings became the seventh recipient of the award. The previous winners were:

  • Rockefeller Center, New York City
  • The Crow Island School, Winnetka, Illinois
  • Baldwin Hills Village, Los Angeles
  • Taliesin West, Paradise Valley, Arizona
  • Johnson and Son Administration Building, Racine, Wisconsin
  • Philip Johnson’s Residence (“The Glass House”) New Caanan, Connecticut.

Architectural critic Peter Blake, writing in 1960, called the 860|880 structures the ‘strongest, purest and most deceptively simple statement of Mies’ ideas.’

AIA 1976 Award Announcement


Copyright 2012-2021 860 Lake Shore Drive Trust       Privacy Statement